False positives

I used to really like and trust my doctor until now. If you have  been following my blog, then you read that I had a positive test for chlamydia. I took the 1g of Zithromax on May 2. With advances in medicine, NAAT is the most sensitive test. However, testing too soon after treatment can lead to false positives. Current CDC guidelines recommend retesting 3 months after treatment. I’m not sure why my doctor is not following the CDC guidelines. He insisted on testing me 2 weeks after treatment. The NAAT can still amplify dead organisms. He said I was positive again. I refuse to believe this so I am waiting 3 months, August 2. If anyone is in the same situation as me, just know that you can get a false positive by testing too early. I will be looking for a new doctor and testing again somewhere else at a later date.

Author: laurrack

New to blogging! What started as a fashion blog turned into a lifestyle blog. I write about anything that I want to write about. I have lived in NC, FL, AZ, and MA.

Leave a Reply

